2013 Cardiff International Poetry Competition

Pierhead Building, Cardiff Bay, Cardiff Wales

Pierhead Building, Cardiff Bay, Cardiff Wales (Photo credit: iknow-uk)

Literature Wales is delighted to announce that the 2013 Cardiff International Poetry Competition will be co-judged by none other than former Poet Laureate Sir Andrew Motion and National Poet of Wales, Gillian Clarke.

The competition is now open and accepting entries. The first prize-winner will walk away with a cheque for £5,000 for just one poem. Further prizes available are £500 for second place, £250 for third plus five runners up will receive £50 each. The competition is accessible to all; it doesn’t matter if you are an established poet or just dabble with verse now and then. All entries to the competition will be judged anonymously, so this is a great opportunity to have your poetry judged on its own merits.

Andrew Motion (Poet Laureate: 1999 – 2009) is professor of creative Writing at Royal Holloway College, University of London, and co-founder of the Poetry Archive. His most recent collection of poems, The Cinder Path (Faber and Faber, 2009), was shortlisted for the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in poetry and the biography, Philip Larkin: A Writer’s Life (Faber and Faber) won him the Whitbread prize for biography in 1993. In addition to his poetry Andrew has published a novella, The Invention of Dr Cake (Faber and Faber, 2003), a memoir, In the Blood (Faber and Faber, 2006), and a novel, Silver (Jonathan cape, 2012). He was knighted for services to poetry in 2009.

Gillian Clarke has held the post of National Poet of Wales since 2008 and is President of Tŷ Newydd Writers’ Centre which she co-founded in 1990. She has published ten collections of poems, a journal, and a collection of essays. Her poetry collection A Recipe for Water (Carcanet, 2009) is to be published in Italy as Una Ricetta Per l’Acqua. Gillian’s latest collection, Ice (Carcanet, 2012), is shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry. In December 2010 she was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry, and in 2012 the Wilfred Owen Poetry Award. Gillian was born in Cardiff and now lives in Ceredigion. Her work is studied widely for GCSE and A Level.

Welsh poet Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch, whose collections include Rockclimbing in Silk (Seren, 2001), Not in These Shoes (Picador, 2008) and Banjo (Picador, 2012), will continue in her role as competition Filter Judge. Her work has appeared in the Guardian, The Independent, Poetry Wales and Poetry Review. In 2005 Samantha was awarded a Hawthornden Fellowship. She was shortlisted for Wales Book of the Year 2009 and in 2011 she won a Leverhulme writer in residence award.

So if you think you have what it takes to delight our judges and get your hands on the top prize of £5,000, then send us your poems now. Just make sure your poem is no longer than 50 lines long, is unpublished, in English and is not a translation of another author’s work, then send it, along with your entry form and payment, to Literature Wales. Full guidelines and Conditions of Entry can be found in the downloadable entry form below.

Source: literatures Walls


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s